International Convention

Forest Products Society

FPS Annual Excellence Awards

The Forest Products Society presents four awards at the International Convention each year. These awards highlight student and professional innovation, research, and other significant contributions to the forest products industry and recognize exceptional service to the Society.

The 2017 awards are presented at the Forest Products Society's 71th International Convention on June 26-28, 2017 in Starkville, MS, USA.

Fred W. Gottschalk Memorial Award

The prestigious Fred W. Gottschalk Memorial Award, named for the first President of the Society, recognizes exceptional service to the Forest Products Society by an individual member

Read more

Wood Engineering Achievement Award: Young Engineer

The Young Engineer Award (2017) honors an individual who has provided a valuable contribution to the field of wood engineering. This award is intended to encourage young (40 years of age or younger) engineers, researchers, or scientists with promising potential for significant contribution to the field.

Read more

Wood Award

The Wood Award recognizes the most outstanding graduate student research conducted in the field of wood and wood products. Wood Award papers describe original research on a wide range of topics including, but not limited to, harvesting and forest operations, product development and manufacture, fundamental properties, end-use applications, and distribution and marketing. Deadline for nomination submission extended to February 28, 2017

Submit nomination Read more

L. J. Markwardt Award

The L. J. Markwardt Award recognizes the author(s) of a technical paper published in the Forest Products Journal or Wood and Fiber Science during the two years prior to the award year that has the most outstanding merit in the field of wood as an engineering material. This award encourages research and promotes knowledge of wood in the engineering field to enhance the efficient utilization of wood.

Read more