International Convention

Forest Products Society


The Forest Products Society presents four awards at the International Convention each year. These awards highlight student and professional innovation, research, and other significant contributions to the forest products industry and recognize exceptional service to the Society.

Deadline for Nominations is April 1, 2019.

Fred W. Gottschalk Memorial Award

The prestigious Fred W. Gottschalk Memorial Award, named for the first President of the Society, recognizes exceptional service to the Forest Products Society by an individual member.

Wood Engineering Achievement Award

The Engineering Innovation Award (2018) honors specific contributions to the discipline of wood engineering. These contributions may, or may not, have reached the marketplace, but they must offer high potential for doing so. Nominations of individuals, projects, or products/devices are acceptable.

Wood Award

The Wood Award recognizes the most outstanding graduate student research conducted in the field of wood and wood products. Wood Award papers describe original research on a wide range of topics including, but not limited to, harvesting and forest operations, product development and manufacture, fundamental properties, end-use applications, and distribution and marketing.

L. J. Markwardt Award

The L. J. Markwardt Award recognizes the author(s) of a technical paper published in the Forest Products Journal or Wood and Fiber Science during the two years prior to the award year that has the most outstanding merit in the field of wood as an engineering material. This award encourages research and promotes knowledge of wood in the engineering field to enhance the efficient utilization of wood.