International Convention

Forest Products Society

Fred W. Gottschalk Memorial Award

This prestigious award, named for the first President of the Society, recognizes and honors exceptional service to the Forest Products Society by an individual member.

Eligibility, nominees must:

  • have a long history of active service to the Society, including involvement in committees, and/or elected offices, such as Division, Technical Interest Group, Section/Chapter, or Regional Officer
  • have ongoing or recent significant involvement in Society affairs
  • have demonstrated conscientious efforts to carry out assigned or elected responsibilities of the Society as set forth in its Constitution
  • have been an active member of the Society for a minimum of 10 years
  • be at least one year removed from the FPS Board if they have served in that capacity (Past President, President, President-Elect, or Vice President)
  • not be a nominee for Vice President

Nomination Packet
Each nomination must include a synopsis (not to exceed 200 words) outlining the candidate's service to the Society and the reasons why he or she should be given consideration for the Award.

Award history

The Fred W. Gottschalk Memorial Award recognizes and honors exceptional service to the Forest Products Society by an individual member. The Fred W. Gottschalk Memorial Award is presented annually in memory of Fred W. Gottschalk, the first President of the Forest Products Society who died in a plane crash in Salt Lake City in 1965.

Fred W. Gottschalk graduated from Iowa State College with a B.S. in Lumber Marketing in 1933. He later received a Master's Degree in Forest Products from Yale. At the time of his death, he was head of the research/marketing section of Potlatch Forests in Lewiston, Idaho. Previously, he had been employed with the American Lumber Treating Company and was the President of MacIntosh and Truman, a Seattle-based wood engineering firm.

The Award is supported by funds from the Society's general operations and consists of an engraved plaque and complimentary registration to the Annual Meeting for the winner and his or her spouse.

Deadline for nomination is Feburary 1, 2018.

Submit nomination

Past recipients

2018 // Richard “Dick” F. Baldwin, Managing Partner, Oak Creek Investments LLC

2017 // Kevin Cheung, Chief Engineer at Western Wood Products Association, Portland, OR

2016 // Eini Lowell , U.S. Forest Service, Pacific Northwest Research Station, Portland Forestry Sciences Laboratory

2015 // David Patterson, Professor Emeritus, University of Arkansas at Monticello

2014 // Dr. Mark Gibson, Professor and Associate Director Forestry, Louisiana Tech University

2013 // Dr. Robert Ross, Project Leader, USDA Forest Service Forest Products Laboratory, Madison, WI USA

2012 // Dr. Paul Cooper, Professor, University of Toronto, Canada

2011 // Cornelis de Hoop, Associate Professor, Louisiana Forest Products Development Center, Louisiana State University Agricultural Center, Louisiana

2010 // Stephen L. Quarles
, Wood Performance & Durability Advisor, Univ. of California-Berkeley, Richmond, CA

2009 // Douglas D. Stokke
, Senior Lecturer, Iowa State University and Principal Consultant, Midwest Fiber Consultants, Story City, IA

2008 // Chung-Yun Hse
, Principal Wood Scientist, USDA Forest Service, Southern Research Station, Pineville, LA

2007 // George Woodson
, Business Technical Manager, Flakeboard Company, Louisiana Particleboard Plant, Simsboro, LA

2006 // Barry S. Goodell
, Professor, University of Maine, Orono, ME

2005 // John E. Phelps
, Professor and Chair, Department of Forestry, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale, IL

2004 // Poo Chow
, Professor, University of Illinois, Urbana, IL

2003 // Fred M. Lamb
, Professor, Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, VA

2002 // H. Michael Barnes
, Professor, Mississippi Forest Products Laboratory, Mississippi State University, Mississippi State, MS

2001 // Howard Rosen
, Research General Engineer, USDA Forest Service, Washington, DC

2000 // James W. Funck
, Associate Professor, Oregon State University, Corvallis, OR

1999 // Norman P. Kutscha, Research Scientist, Weyerhaeuser Company, Federal Way, WA

1998 // James Granskog
, Project Leader, USDA Forest Service Southern Forest Experiment Station, New Orleans, LA

1997 // Carl Jansen
, Owner, Search North America, Inc., Sunriver, OR

1996 // John F. Senft
, Associate Professor, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN

1995 // Gilbert L. Comstock, R&D Director, Weyerhaeuser Co., Tacoma, WA

1994 // Peter Koch
, President, Wood Science Laboratory, Inc., Corvallis, MT

1993 // Eugene M. Wengert
, Professor and Extension Forestry Specialist, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Madison, WI

1992 // Otto Suchsland
, Professor, Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI

1991 // Wayne K. Murphey
, Principal Forest Products Technologist, USDA Forest Service Cooperative State Research Service, Washington, DC

1990 // Arno Lessheim, President, Arnopallet Company, Bedford, IN

1989 // Donald R. McGillivray
, Consultant, D.G Bell & Associates, Inc., Ottawa, ON

1988 // Ali Moslemi
, Professor, University of Idaho, Moscow, ID

1987 // Donald H. Percival
, Research Professor, University of Illinois, Champaign, IL

1986 // Joseph R. Saucier
, Project Leader, Southeastern Forest Experiment Station, Athens, GA

1985 // Ed Kallio, retired, North Central Forest Experiment Station, Duluth, MN

1984 // Michael O. Hunt, Professor and Director of the Wood Research Laboratory, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN

1983 // Charles W. McMillin, Principal Wood Scientist, USDA Southern Forest Experiment Station, Pineville, LA

1982 // Harold E. Worth, retired, Rocky Mountain Forest and Range Experiment Station, Fort Collins, CO

1981 // Don Burnet, Technical Director, Crown Zellerbach Paper Co., Camus, WA

1980 // Jerome F. Saeman, Deputy Director, USDA Forest Service, Forest Products Laboratory, Madison, WI

1979 // Terry Sellers, Jr.
, Marketing Manager, Reichhold Chemicals, Inc., Tuscaloosa, AL

1978 // Dwight W. Bensend
, retired, Iowa State University, Ames, IA

1977 // Warren S. Thompson
, Director, Mississippi Forest Products Laboratory, Mississippi State University, Mississippi State, MS

1976 // John B. Grantham
, Assistant Director, Pacific Northwest Forest & Range Experiment Station, Seattle, WA

1975 // Duncan R. Young
, President, DHYM Limited, Likskeard, ON, Canada

1974 // Charles P. Berolzheimer
, Research Director, California Cedar Products Company, Stockton, CA

1973 // Milton and Jean Mater
, Owners, Mater Engineering, Corvallis, OR

1972 // Richard F. Blomquist
, Project Leader, USDA Southeastern Forest Experiment Station, Athens, GA

1971 // James L. Love
, President, Love Wood Products Company, Diboll, TX

1970 // Ed M. Conway
, President, Conway Corporation, Grand Rapids, MI

1969 // Frank T. Parrish
, retired, Heywood-Wakefield Company, Gardner, MA

1968 // Wayne C. Lewis, Forest Products Laboratory, Madison, WI

1967 // Walton R. Smith, Southeastern Forest Experiment Station, Asheville, NC

1966 // Colonel J.H. Jenkins
, Director, Forest Products Laboratories of Canada